TOWN OF HOLLAND, SHEBOYGAN COUNTY, WISCONSIN ORDINANCE NO. 2025-03

AN ORDINANCE AMENDING PROVISIONS OF CHAPTERS 85 AND 150 OF THE CODE OF THE TOWN OF HOLLAND, SHEBOYGAN COUNTY, WISCONSIN

BE IT ORDAINED by the Town Board of the Town of Holland, Sheboygan County, Wisconsin, that the following provisions of the Town Code for the Town of Holland, Sheboygan County, Wisconsin, are hereby amended as follows:

Section 1. § 85-2. of the Town Code, relating to plan commission membership, is hereby amended to read as follows:

The Plan Commission shall be composed of the Town Chair, a Town Supervisor, five additional citizen members and two alternate members of recognized experience and qualifications.

A. Town Chair. The Town Chair shall be the chair of the Plan Commission unless the Town Chair recommends to the Town Board and the Town Board approves by a simple majority vote that the Town Supervisor serving on the Plan Commission serve as chair of the Plan Commission. The Town Chair and the Supervisor serving on the Plan Commission may vote on such a motion. Should there be a vacancy in the office of the Town Chair, the seat of such person on the Town Plan Commission shall remain vacant until a new Town Chair has taken office. If the Town Chair was also serving as the chair of the Plan Commission, the Town Board may appoint the Supervisor serving on the Plan Commission as the interim chair of the Plan Commission by simple majority vote. If such action is not taken by the Board, the Plan Commission shall appoint an interim chair at the beginning of each Plan Commission meeting.

B. Town Supervisor. The Town Supervisor representative to the Plan Commission shall be appointed by a simple majority vote of the Town Board. If the person so appointed ceases to be a member of the Town Board of Supervisors, the remaining members of the Town Board shall appoint a successor to serve on the Plan Commission. If the Supervisor who ceased being a member of the Town Board also served as the chair of the Plan Commission, the Town Chair shall serve as chair of the Plan Commission as provided in § 85-2A.

C. Citizen members. Five citizen members of the Plan Commission shall be appointed by the Town Chair subject to confirmation by the Town Board. The term of office shall be for three years commencing May 1.

D. Alternate members. A first alternate member and a second alternate member, both appointed by the Town Chair subject to confirmation by the Town Board, shall only vote when a regular member is absent or declines to vote because of interest. The second alternate member may vote only when the first alternate is unable to vote or is already voting. The term of office shall be for three years commencing May 1.

E. Clerk. The Town Board shall appoint by simple majority vote a person to serve as clerk of the Plan Commission. The appointed Plan Commission Clerk may, but is not required to, be a member of the Plan Commission.

<u>Section 2.</u> § 150-9 of the Town Code, relating to commercial building code, is hereby amended to read as follows:

The following chapters of the Wisconsin Administrative Code, their reference codes and standards, and subsequent revisions are adopted for municipal enforcement by the State Building Inspector:

- A. Chapter Comm 5, Licenses, Certifications and Registrations.
- B. Chapters Comm 61 to 65, Commercial Building Code.
- C. Chapters Comm 75 to 79, Existing Buildings Code.
- D. Chapter Comm 70, Historic Buildings.

Section 3. § 150-10 of the Town Code, relating to commercial building code, is hereby amended to read as follows:

The State Building Inspector, authorized by the municipality to enforce the adopted building codes noted in § 150-9 above, shall be properly certified by the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.

Section 4. This Ordinance shall become effective upon passage and posting.

Adopted this 10th day of March, 2025.

TOWN OF HOLLAND

David Huenink, Town Chair

Kelly Caswell, Town Supervisor

Doug Hamilton, Town Supervisor

Stanley Lafnmers, Town Supervisor

Brody Stapel, Town Supervisor

ATTEST:

Janelle Kaiser, Town Clerk